My journey with horses

True passions usually emerge early in life. And this was certainly the case for me with horses. I have been fascinated with these noble creatures since I was a child! My passion is classical equestrianism because, for me, this is the only way as a rider to treat the horse with feeling and respect, in other words to gymnasticise the horse using sensibly structured exercises in such a way that it can carry its rider gracefully and in balance without suffering any harm.

Many years of very intensive training provided me with a deep insight into the different ways of training and riding horses. Over my three decades of working in this area, I have been able to accompany countless horses and riders on their training journey through to haute école. In doing so, it has always been important for me to keep my eyes and mind open as I venture through the equestrian world. It is possible to learn something with EVERY rider, EVERY training journey, from EVERY horse breed and EVERY type of horse!

This means that over the years I have developed an incredible treasure trove of knowledge based on practical experience. I have always striven to continually expand this knowledge and pass it on to horse enthusiasts, and this has formed a central theme throughout my life.

In this section I would like to present a short summary of the most important stages in my riding career:

1970

I was born in Frankfurt am Main in 1970. I'm fairly certain my unconditional passion for horses was innate.

1976

I began riding when I was six years old. My mother had a horse and strongly supported my passion. My favourite place was my grandfather's hunting lodge - situated in a secluded spot in the middle of the forest, without electricity and running water. I enjoyed life in the heart of nature at the lodge especially as there was a stable in the immediate vicinity. I would spend hours, as a young girl, in the company of horses and dogs wandering through the hunting grounds.

1980

This feeling of absolute freedom and unity with the horse influenced the way I ride - I rode; whenever possible, without a bit and saddle. I thought this was the most natural and horse-friendly way of riding.

1983

As a teenager, I passed the test for the German riding and driving bronze plaque and also participated in show jumping events as I found these more exciting than dressage.

1984

At that time I had a riding instructor who was to have a lasting impact on my riding journey. I watched how my trainer rode his Lipizzan stallion with such absolute lightness and the most subtle of aids up to haute école movements - and I was totally fascinated. I wanted to ride like THAT! But where could I learn to do so? My instructor only had typical school horses so he advised me to go to Portugal where I could find genuine equestrian masters who could teach according to classical principles.

1985

My horse-mad mother travelled with me to Portugal and from then onwards, for stretches of several weeks and even months at a time, I was able to ride with Luis Valenca and subsequently with Manuel Jorge de Oliveira. I trained with Manuel for 26 years. I also enjoyed a close friendship with him until 2013.

1986

In Germany I started working for Marc de Broissia - under whose watchful eyes and guidance I rode for 16 years and started training horses independently. We went our separate ways in 2002. I consider the fact that I spent such long periods of training with different horses and related challenges as one of my great strengths. Meanwhile I can look back over 30 years of professional experience. You can see some of the horses I have trained in the REFERENCES section. A review of riding activities in my youth is to be found at the bottom of this page.

1990

The start of a close and friendly collaboration - which continues to this day - with Lana Lacey-Krone who has been the director of Europe's largest circus since 2017.

2000

This was the year a dream came true: my own yard! I moved into Gut Rosenhof located in Rudratsried, Bavaria, with my horses. Since 2002 I have been running the training yard independently and work with some 50 horses - most of them stallions - from Germany as well as a variety of other countries. In addition to the equestrianism, I now also needed to run my own company - and my open university course in business studies which I concluded in the 1990s with a degree in business management has held me in good stead.

2005

An important element of my objective of preserving classical equestrianism and passing on my knowledge of horse training is to contribute to specialist publications on a regular basis. Since 2005 I have been writing regularly for prestigious magazines in Germany and abroad.

    

2005

A further milestone in my life is the publication of my first book. "IN DEFERENCE" explains the foundations of classical dressage and has become a highly acclaimed work of reference in this field.

2006

A crucial success factor when passing on knowledge is also the development of mental images. This is why I started a collaboration with pferdia tv to produce the first instructional films on DVD, which are also produced in English.

2006

I receive an increasingly large number of requests from my customers around the world to hold a clinic close to where they live. This is the start of our external clinics in Germany as well as abroad.

2009

This year our Symposium, which has meanwhile become a set feature of our work, took place for the first time under the motto "Training Horses with Feeling and Respect". Each November circus director Jana Lacey Krone invites us to the Winter Quarters of Circus Krone and also participates in the event herself as co-presenter.

2013

My second book "CLASSICAL DRESSAGE with Anja Beran" is published by CADMOS-Verlag, accompanied by the release of a DVD under the same name.

2015

Working with my promoter and founder of the CADMOS publishing house, Hans Joachim Schmidtke, under his newly established CRYSTAL-Verlag I publish my third book "THE DRESSAGE SEAT" involving physiotherapist and dance teacher Veronika Brod.

2015

Classical dressage is the basis for training in keeping with the requirements of the horse which works for EVERY horse and is in no way limited to baroque breeds. For this reason the stud director of the Principal and State Stud of Schwaiganger, Dr. Eberhard Senckenberg, is open to 'new' methods and has me train horses and riders from his stud.

2016

The Principal and State Stud of of Marbach also puts its trust in us with its horses: Ever since two Weil-Marbach pure-bred Arab sires have been in training with us- outside the covering season - at Gut Rosenhof.

2016

The newly created online video platform wehorse offers the best conditions for sharing my instructional films widely on the internet. From this year onwards, the pferdia team visit Gut Rosenhof regularly to produce new video series.

2017

My first book is completely revised by KOSMOS-Verlag and now features new photographs by Maresa Mader.

2017

The "Training the eye - recognising training which is appropriate to the requirements of the horse" presentation is hugely successful and various events held in this connection attract countless visitors. For this reason we decide to produce the presentation as a DVD and online video in collaboration with wehorse, formerly pferdia, in German as well as English.

2017

Originally, this book was intended as a collection of photographs of our horses by Maresa Mader, but I was then asked to write a few lines for each of the horses featured in "HORSES IN PROFILE". I enjoyed writing extensive pieces about each horse as every horse I work with is extremely important to me and each one has its own very unique story.


Memories of my young riding years

Click on the picture to see the gallery.

INTERVIEW WITH ANJA BERAN on equestrianlifestyleblog.com: >> Classical Equitation with Anja Beran

Search

Mein Weg mit den Pferden

Wahre Leidenschaften zeichnen sich früh ab. So war es auch in meinem Leben mit den Pferden. Von Kindesbeinen an war ich fasziniert von diesen edlen Geschöpfen! Meine Passion ist die Klassische Reitkunst, denn das ist für mich der einzige Weg als Reiter dem Pferd mit Gefühl und Respekt zu begegnen, nämlich das Pferd durch sinnvoll aufgebaute Übungen so zu gymnastizieren, dass es seinen Reiter mit Anmut und in Balance tragen kann, ohne Schaden zu nehmen.

Lange und sehr intensive Lehrjahre gaben mir einen tiefen Einblick in die unterschiedlichen Wege, Pferde auszubilden und zu reiten. Unzählige Pferde und Reiter durfte ich in den drei Jahrzehnten meiner Tätigkeit auf ihrem Weg bis zur Hohen Schule begleiten. Wichtig war mir dabei immer mit offenen Augen und offenem Geist durch die Pferdewelt zu gehen. Bei JEDER Reitweise, bei JEDEM Ausbildungsweg, von JEDER Pferderasse und JEDEM Pferdetyp kann man etwas lernen!

So hat sich über die Jahre ein großer Schatz an Erfahrungswissen angesammelt. Dieses Wissen ständig zu erweitern und interessierten Pferdemenschen zu vermitteln, ist mir ein großes Anliegen und zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch meinen Lebensweg!

Hier möchte ich kurz die wichtigsten Stationen in meinem reiterlichen Werdegang darstellen:

1970

1970 wurde ich in Frankfurt am Main geboren – wahrscheinlich schon mit der bedingungslosen Leidenschaft für Pferde in meinem Herzen.

1976

Bereits mit sechs Jahren begann ich zu reiten. Meine Mutter hatte selbst Pferde und unterstützte meine Leidenschaft mit ganzer Kraft. Mein Lieblingsplatz war die Jagdhütte meines Großvaters – einsam und mitten im Wald gelegen, ohne Strom und fließend Wasser. Ich genoss das Leben in der Natur dort, zumal ein Pferdestall in unmittelbarer Nähe war. So konnte ich schon als junges Mädchen stundenlang mit Pferd und Hund durchs Revier streifen.

1980

Das Gefühl der vollkommenen Freiheit und Einheit mit dem Pferd bestimmte meine Reiterei: Ich ritt wann immer es möglich war ohne Gebiss und Sattel. Ich hielt das für die natürlichste und pferdefreundlichste Art zu reiten.

1983

Als Teenager legte ich das Deutsche Reit- und Fahrabzeichen in Bronze ab und startete auch auf Springturnieren, weil ich das spannender fand, als Dressurreiten.

 

1984

Damals hatte ich einen Reitlehrer, der meinen reiterlichen Weg nachhaltig ändern sollte: Ich sah meinem Ausbilder zu wie er seinen Lippizzanerhengst in absoluter Leichtigkeit und mit feinsten Hilfen bis in die höchsten Lektionen ritt und war fasziniert! SO wollte ich reiten! Nur wo konnte ich das lernen? Mein Lehrer verfügte nur über die üblichen Schulpferde. Deshalb empfahl er mir nach Portugal zu gehen, wo noch echte Reitmeister zu finden waren, die die Reiterei nach klassischen Grundsätzen lehren konnten.

1985

Meine pferdebegeisterte Mutter reiste mit mir nach Portugal und von da ab durfte ich für jeweils mehrere Wochen oder sogar Monate zuerst bei Luis Valenca und dann bei Manuel Jorge de Oliveira reiten. 26 Jahre lang trainierte ich mit ihm, bis zum Jahr 2013 verband mich mit Manuel eine enge Freundschaft.

 

1986

In Deutschland begann ich für Marc de Broissia zu arbeiten, unter dessen Augen und Anleitung ich 16 Jahre lang ritt und anfing selbständig Pferde auszubilden. Im Jahr 2002 trennten sich unsere Wege. Die Tatsache, dass ich eine so lange „Lehrzeit“ mit verschiedenen Pferden und Herausforderungen absolviert habe, sehe ich heute als eine meiner großen Stärken. Inzwischen kann ich auf eine 30-jährige professionelle Erfahrung setzen.
 Ein Teil der von mir ausgebildeten Pferde ist im Kapitel REFERENZEN zu sehen. Einen Rückblick in meine reiterliche Jugend finden Sie ganz unten auf dieser Seite.

 

1990

Der Beginn einer bis heute andauernden engen und freundschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit mit Jana Lacey-Krone, die seit 2017 Chefin von Europas größtem Circus ist.

2000

In diesem Jahr erfüllte sich ein Traum: der eigene Stall! Ich konnte mit meinen Pferden auf Gut Rosenhof im bayerischen Rudratsried einziehen. Seit 2002 leite ich den Ausbildungsstall selbstständig und arbeite hier mit rund 50 Pferden – die meisten davon Hengste – aus dem In- und Ausland. Zur Reiterei kam also noch die Führung eines eigenen Betriebes, wofür mir mein in den 90iger Jahren absolviertes Fernstudium als Diplom-Betriebswirtin (FH) eine gute Grundlage lieferte.

2005

Ein weiterer Meilenstein in meinem Leben ist die Veröffentlichung meines ersten Buches: AUS RESPEKT vermittelt die Grundlagen der klassischen Dressur und gehört heute zu den Standardwerken.

2005

Ein wichtiger Teil meines Anliegens, die Klassische Reitkunst zu erhalten und mein Wissen über die Pferdeausbildung weiterzugeben, sind regelmäßige Beiträge in Fachzeitschriften. Seit diesem Jahr schreibe ich regelmäßig für namhafte Fachmagazine im In- und Ausland.

    

2006

Ein Erfolgsfaktor bei der Weitergabe von reiterlichem Wissen ist auch die Entwicklung von inneren Bildern. So begann ich in Zusammenarbeit mit pferdia tv erste Lehrfilme auf DVD zu produzieren, die auch in englischer Sprache veröffentlicht wurden.

2006

Immer mehr Anfragen erreichen mich von meinen Kunden aus aller Welt, auch bei ihnen vor Ort einen Lehrgang abzuhalten. Das ist der Beginn unserer externen Lehrgänge im In- und Ausland.

2009

In diesem Jahr startet erstmals unsere inzwischen zur festen Institution gewordene Fachtagung unter dem Motto "Pferdeausbildung mit Gefühl & Respekt", zu der uns Circuschefin Jana Lacey Krone jeden November in den Winterbau des Münchner Circus Krone einlädt und als Co-Moderatorin selbst an der Veranstaltung teilnimmt.

2013

Mein zweites Buch KLASSISCHE REITKUNST mit Anja Beran erscheint im CADMOS-Verlag, der dazu auch eine DVD mit gleichnamigem Titel produziert.

2015

Mit meinem Förderer und Gründer des CADMOS Verlages, Hans Joachim Schmidtke, veröffentliche ich in seinem neu gegründeten CRYSTAL-Verlag mein drittes Buch DER DRESSURSITZ unter Mitwirkung von Physiotherapeutin und Tanzlehrerin Veronika Brod.

2015

Die klassische Dressur ist die Basis für eine pferdegerechte Ausbildung für JEDES Pferd und keineswegs auf Barockrassen beschränkt. Aus diesem Grund ist der Gestütsleiter vom HLG Schwaiganger, Dr. Eberhard Senckenberg, offen für "neue" Wege und lässt Pferde und Reiter aus seinem Gestüt von mir ausbilden.

2016

Auch das HLG Marbach vertraut uns seine Pferde an: Zwei Deckhengst aus der Weil-Marbacher Vollblutaraber-Zucht stehen seitdem außerhalb der Decksaison bei uns auf Gut Rosenhof zur Ausbildung.

2016

Die neu erschaffene Onlinevideo-Plattform pferdia bietet beste Voraussetzungen, um meine Lehrfilme auch zeitgemäß übers Internet zu verbreiten. Ab diesem Jahr kommt das pferdia-Team regelmäßig auf Gut Rosenhof, um neue Videoserien zu produzieren.

2017

Mein Erstlingswerk wird vom KOSMOS-Verlag noch einmal komplett überarbeitet und neu bebildert mit aktuellen Aufnahmen von Maresa Mader.

2017

Der Vortrag "Blickschulung – Pferdegerechte Ausbildung erkennen" ist ein großer Erfolg und zieht auf mehreren Veranstaltungen unzählige Besucher an. Deshalb beschließen wir, den Vortrag in Zusammenarbeit mit pferdia als DVD und Onlinevideo zu produzieren, in deutscher und in englischer Sprache.

2017

Ursprünglich war dieses Buch als reiner Bildband von Fotografin Maresa Mader mit unseren Pferden geplant, aber dann bat man mich zu den in PFERDE IM PROFIL porträtierten Pferden ein paar Zeilen zu schreiben. Das tat ich gerne und ausführlich, denn jedes Pferd, mit dem ich arbeite, liegt mir am Herzen und hat seine ganz individuelle Geschichte.


Erinnerungen an meine jungen Reiterjahre

Bitte auf das Bild klicken, um die Bilder-Gallerie zu sehen.

Suche